The Sinister Design Forums

Games => TRPG2 => Topic started by: Zhampir on February 08, 2010, 01:36:28 AM

Title: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: Zhampir on February 08, 2010, 01:36:28 AM
Not that anybody will likely fix it... but...
It's a very annoying one, the enemies keep walking on top of each other. especially the mechanics.
I like to bottleneck them so I deal with them one at a time, instead they all stand on the same square, it's imposible to actually get a pict of this because it looks like there is only one there... I don't know what causes it, but it's annoying...
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on February 08, 2010, 05:21:05 AM
'Tis true that Craig hasn't fixed a few bugs since release of TRPG2, but then, if someday in the future he does re-do TRPG1 and TRPG2 with the TRPG3 engine, then it might be useful to have a list of bugs handy. ;)
I do suggest that you still posta  screenshot, and simply circle in paint which unit you're talking about and from which position they moved (unit number, e.g. Mech. Captain 2, may help as well).
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: CraigStern on February 08, 2010, 07:37:26 AM
Let's put it this way: if I redo those games, there's no way I'm using the old engines. So it's incredibly unlikely that these bugs will show up when I start working on it. But I appreciate the thought. ;)
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Frosty on February 23, 2010, 06:32:02 PM
Actually, they have a deeper shadow if they are on the same square, and the Mechanics will walk on water sometimes.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Georgie_Leech on March 03, 2010, 04:28:51 PM
This is a weird one...

I haven't been able to take a screen shot, because it's an animation, but for some reason, Gamblin' Jack's Recover move Doesn't work properly. It claims that G.J. boosted defense by... it seems to be random, I've seen both 3 and 9, but doesn't actually recover anything, and no animation plays. The game then freezes; I cannot select "Done, nor move G.J. in any way. It gets wierder when someone is in the team spot next to him. It causes them to perform the animation of one of their techniques (I've seen Dorgon use Burst Shot, Darling use Shadow blast, and Anya use Mega Shield). This attack doesn't actually do/recover damage, and it deducts 4 Psp from whoever did the attack. The game does not freeze in this scenario.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Ertxiem on March 03, 2010, 05:00:57 PM
Yeah. That's a weird bug, but it's there for a long time. And I believe that Craig will not fix it (see his post above), since he's working on TSoG.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Georgie_Leech on March 04, 2010, 12:34:51 AM
I know he won't fix it, I'm just trying to figure out how it happened. I mean, most bugs are just an error in programming, but that's a fairly significant one.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: CraigStern on March 04, 2010, 10:59:14 AM
That was probably introduced (like the other bug mentioned above) when I upgraded the enemy combat AI for the special Sinister Design-exclusive version of TRPG2. It'll resolve itself if and when I remake the game in the TSoG engine. :)
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Steel Ersatz Man on March 19, 2010, 12:45:05 PM
I have just joined with Tatidan (It's Ridiculously Hard) and I went to go and get the yellow orb in Lake Alto. I got it but ended up getting lost and landed on the shore where General Darkeye is earlier in the game. And, I can't get back on the ship. This is my second runthrough of the game on New Game+ so I REALLY don't want to have to start A new game. HELP PLEASE!   :(
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on March 19, 2010, 04:08:08 PM
See the walkthroughs for getting off the island in the TRPG2 walkthrough section: there is a map of how to navigate the Lake.

Welcome to the forums, read the rules, use proper grammar and punctuation, play the games and enjoy your stay!
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Steel Ersatz Man on March 20, 2010, 03:04:32 AM
It's not that I can't navigate the mines, it's that it's the final chapter and the game won't let me back on the boat.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Dayn on March 20, 2010, 05:04:41 AM
Also, at lake alto you can walk on water.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on March 20, 2010, 06:01:22 AM
Dayn: kindly expand, as such a statement in the bug thread is practically useless. Tell us the conditions under which this can happen, when this happened, what unusual steps you took before that happened, etc.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Steel Ersatz Man on March 20, 2010, 09:01:50 AM
Everyone just seems to be veering off subject here. I NEED SOME HELP HERE! Also, I have found that you can walk on water and off screen. Furthermore, when you try to load, you load off screen.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Presentiment on March 20, 2010, 12:21:45 PM
The glitch happens when you run at the corners of the map.

Then you can only walk on the parts beyond the 'invisible wall'.

It is interesting. Lets you get into Thallion's mansion without him being there, you can skip the Spriggat Assassin battle, go into another area turned backwards.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: CraigStern on March 20, 2010, 01:12:27 PM
Try reloading the browser page and restarting the game from your last save.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Frosty on March 27, 2010, 06:25:22 PM
Resistances don't work if someone without that resistance is attacked in the same attack. Such as, in the Tastidian battle, Shadowboxer, Darkling and Anya took 25 damage from shockwave each. Yes, my Anya does have light resistance.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Presentiment on March 27, 2010, 07:25:58 PM
It'll say that, but she should just take 13 dmg.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Frosty on March 27, 2010, 08:42:13 PM
She had 20 hp, and she died.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on March 28, 2010, 06:56:34 AM
How was she standing w.r.t. Tastidian? 'Cause there is also this very odd glitch with backstabbing- sometimes enemies don't recieve backstab on either Niven's Trick Shot or Gamblin' Jack's Snake Eyes (for instance) and I do remember pondering that sometimes the enemies deal back-stab damage when non-should be given- I believe I came across that issue with Tastidian back in the day. But, I do, however, remember now, that the explanation was that some reason Shockwave is percieved as a Shadow attack - I definitely remember noting my Shadolwings getting half-the-damage, whilst Anya got the full blast. But it's a Light attack- at least, that's how it's been treated by all the forumers for the last 2 years.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: torugo on May 07, 2010, 02:53:34 PM
when ever i complete the game dorgon for some reason is already in my party and he is dead is that a bug.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Ertxiem on May 07, 2010, 04:04:56 PM
So, you're saying that you're playing a game where you got Dorgon, then beat the final battle (any of the two) and when you start a "new game +" Dorgon is in the rooster but dead. I recall that bug being reported some time ago in the old forums.
Craig said before that it's not in is plans for the near future to fix the bugs in TRPG2... :(

Some punctuation would help me understand better what you wrote.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: MikeW781 on May 08, 2010, 07:42:09 AM
I have experienced the same bug; when I start a new game+ Dorgon is in my party but dead.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: torugo on May 08, 2010, 07:43:22 AM
So, you're saying that you're playing a game where you got Dorgon, then beat the final battle (any of the two) and when you start a "new game +" Dorgon is in the rooster but dead. I recall that bug being reported some time ago in the old forums.
Craig said before that it's not in is plans for the near future to fix the bugs in TRPG2... :(

Some punctuation would help me understand better what you wrote.
sorry i have no way of knowing these things since i havent even been to the old forums
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Ertxiem on May 08, 2010, 12:00:28 PM
No problem. I wasn't blaming you of anything. I was just trying to say that Craig (probably) already knew about this bug.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: frodo2040 on May 16, 2010, 07:18:08 AM
I am going solo on easy for this game.  I have just finished talking to General Darkeye, and when I enter the first battle, it says I am defeated before I do anything.  What can I do to fix this?

Update: I added Grotius to the first slot in my party, and that solved the problem. (Any idea why this might be occurring?)
Update: New bug: It seems I don't have to fight the Bug Queen I automatically win and get "undefined" gold coins. (going solo)
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: MikeW781 on May 31, 2010, 06:05:11 AM
Both of these bugs have been plaguing me for quite some time. I was going through solo (on Normal) and auto win the bug queen battle and auto loose the Gen. Darkeye battles
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: lentro on June 19, 2010, 09:47:28 PM
I'm not sure if this is a bug but from the developer's mistake, anyway, it seems that there should be no female shadowlings in the game due to the queen killing them right? Well Lala is a girl (at least i hope, because that would be a terrible guy name) and she stills seems to be living.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Bromtaghon on June 20, 2010, 07:50:01 AM
True, but then again, she's already quite old, so the Queen won't go out of her way to kill some one who will die soon anyways.  And I still don't get how killing the Shadowlings helped control the Spriggats...
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: lentro on June 20, 2010, 09:26:55 AM
Good point, but what about when Lala was younger? And I'm pretty sure she killed female spriggats probably.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Bromtaghon on June 21, 2010, 01:47:53 PM
The Shadowlings were at war with the Spriggats, so both genders were probably killed.  I agree with Lala's being alive as a plot-hole though, seeing as someone (I can't remember who) said the female Shadowlings were killed.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: lentro on June 21, 2010, 02:33:36 PM
Cerzak said she killed them. I found another bug, every time I start a new game+ and save it and get off, then get on later, when I talk to Tastadian he ask if I destroyed the academy yet, so even if I'm on the mission of searching for the mecahnics base, it will skip forward to the last mission, and i can't get out of it either.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on June 24, 2010, 11:39:33 AM
I agree with Lala's being alive as a plot-hole though, seeing as someone (I can't remember who) said the female Shadowlings were killed.
Actually, it's just bad wording by Craig there that confused many people- he later explained that Cerzak was talking about female Spriggats, not Shadowlings. But as both people are citizens of the Shadowling Empire, they can be referred to as Shadowlings (e.g. Americans in general, but Hispanics, blacks, whites, asians, indians in particular).

In any way, methinks it is still worthwhile to compile a list of bugs for TRPG2 in case Craig does re-do it with a new engine and some of them are not erased with the upgrade.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Bromtaghon on June 24, 2010, 03:07:30 PM
Is this the official TRPG2 Bug Thread?
If so, I found a bug where I was about to fight Cerzak.  As soon as the battle loaded I lost. 
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: lentro on June 24, 2010, 11:23:36 PM
Didn't someone say in an earlier post that you needed Grotius on your team?
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on June 27, 2010, 01:37:56 PM
Didn't someone say in an earlier post that you needed Grotius on your team?
In what respect? To get the Cold Resistance Orb- yes. Otherwise, it is not essential for completion of the game to have Grotius on your team.

Bromtaghon: might as well use this as the "official" bug thead.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Barzul on June 27, 2010, 07:28:28 PM
Well no, he means that in the fight with Cerzak, some poster said they automatically lost until they put Grotius in the first team spot.

You just need to have a team member in the first position, any of them. I think at least.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: Nameless on July 16, 2010, 01:05:22 PM
In the Bar at Psy Academy, if you have sided with them already then you cant gamble with him any more and it wont allow you to dialogue after selecting a game, meaning you also cannot exit. I keep forgetting and this has happened many times. Just wanted to see if this has happened to anyone else? If so take your time fixing it, it doesn't really matter much at that point.
                     
                                                 - Nameless
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: algebra15 on July 21, 2010, 12:36:51 PM
I was visiting Malignus, and I completed the protect-Darkeye-from-Cerzak battle during one of the trips. I had started the Darkeye mission, but not finished, and so came back to  train some more. I decided to see if I could deal with the fight at the end of the mission, and when I talked to Gen. Tastidian, I found I had "completed" the mission. I could use the boat, find the yellow orb, dock on the Gen. Darkeye side, but the cave was empty. Pirate Pete never showed up, so I was disqualified for his orb.

The second one probably isn't a glitch, but I visited Malignus, and decided to see if I could do the Nelis mission solo. I succeeded, and won the game. I had just "completed" the Darkeye mission.
Title: Duel bug
Post by: Dorgon 5000 on July 30, 2010, 02:11:50 AM
I have noticed a bug in the multiplayer mode, that makes so you sometimes canīt turn around. Could you fix that, please?
Title: Re: Duel bug
Post by: Duskling on July 30, 2010, 08:01:05 PM
I've noticed that bug, but in the single player... campaign?*


*Would that be the right word?
Title: Re: Duel bug
Post by: Dorgon 5000 on July 31, 2010, 06:46:05 AM
For me, it only appears in multiplayer.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: bugfartboy on August 03, 2010, 07:08:19 PM
Sometimes when I run at what should be a "door" to another area, but I'm not supposed to go back, the hero will get stuck being able to only go up and down, no side to side, and no way out. I can't get a screenshot to show though.
Title: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: mezzoforte on August 06, 2010, 12:53:26 AM
Whenever I use frost shield on darkling, it misses.
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: MikeW781 on August 06, 2010, 07:52:53 AM
Its probably a glitch. Unfortunately, it will not be fixed anytime soon, as Craig is working on TsoG, then his "secret project", then MAYBE remkaing TRPG2
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: SmartyPants on August 06, 2010, 08:01:18 AM
I thought he said he will fix the bugs in TRPG2 after finishing TSoG.  I don't see Craig ever fully remaking TRPG2.
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: Zhampir on August 06, 2010, 09:23:57 AM
Actually he said that he will not actually be fixing anything in TRPG2, but if he does he will be rewriting it with the new engine, so any bugs that are there now probably will no longer be there.
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: MikeW781 on August 06, 2010, 10:48:14 AM
Actually he said that he will not actually be fixing anything in TRPG2, but if he does he will be rewriting it with the new engine, so any bugs that are there now probably will no longer be there.
thats what i meant
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: mezzoforte on August 06, 2010, 06:51:34 PM
Is the version at sinisterdesign.net the "special" version?  Is it the latest version?
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: SmartyPants on August 06, 2010, 06:52:22 PM
Yes, it is the latest version.
Title: bug queen bug
Post by: mezzoforte on August 06, 2010, 07:09:30 PM
Has anyone been in the situation where no attack will hit the queen?  It's my third time through the (same) game.
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: MikeW781 on August 06, 2010, 07:14:25 PM
The queen has one hittable spot, her bottom left square. The other spots are for asthetics. Don't know if this helps.
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: mezzoforte on August 06, 2010, 07:50:35 PM
Actually burst shot worked.  Go figure... even dark vortex did squat
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: bugfartboy on August 07, 2010, 06:26:45 AM
It's one of those bugs that fixes itself. I had the same problem.
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: lordnova on August 17, 2010, 02:02:17 PM
you have to get close to the bug queen  so you could hit you have to do short ranged not long :-*
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: bugfartboy on August 17, 2010, 02:07:18 PM
Really? Ive done that and nothing hits. It seems to just happen though. I would get it 1/2 dead and then nothing would work.
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: MikeW781 on August 17, 2010, 04:46:49 PM
Odd. Are you playing on Sinister Design.net, or some inferior website?  ;D
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: bugfartboy on August 17, 2010, 04:57:17 PM
SinisterDesign.net. Hopefully it will end once Craig puts the game into a new engine.
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: bugfartboy on August 18, 2010, 12:02:42 AM
It's also special because it has
Spoiler
Magnilus
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: lordnova on August 19, 2010, 07:28:07 AM
bug queen dont have a bug you must attack it close if hero have pys hail use it or use mind blast
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: ArtDrake on August 21, 2010, 01:41:13 PM
And

Spoiler
Dorgon
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: Duskling on August 21, 2010, 07:08:32 PM
Is the version at sinisterdesign.net the "special" version?  Is it the latest version?
I believe that you...
Spoiler
Can teach Anya to learn Long Shield in the Sinister Design version
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: MikeW781 on August 22, 2010, 07:34:54 AM
Is the version at sinisterdesign.net the "special" version?  Is it the latest version?
I believe that you...
Spoiler
Can teach Anya to learn Long Shield in the Sinister Design version
You could do that on all the versions. Festus gets Big Shield and Anya gets Long Shield
Title: Re: Why can't I use frost shield on darkling?
Post by: Duskling on August 22, 2010, 08:07:15 AM
Is the version at sinisterdesign.net the "special" version?  Is it the latest version?
I believe that you...
Spoiler
Can teach Anya to learn Long Shield in the Sinister Design version
You could do that on all the versions. Festus gets Big Shield and Anya gets Long Shield
Really? I thought that Anya could learn Long Shield only on the C.D. version, now the Sinister Design version.
Title: Re: bug queen bug
Post by: ArtDrake on August 24, 2010, 09:49:54 AM
No, I've experienced the same thing. And sometimes, when I replay the battle, there are no enemies.

Sometimes, no attacks do damage.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: KZ on August 30, 2010, 08:49:34 AM
Right, folks- I've merged all the BUG related topics into one here- if you've found a bug in TRPG2, just post it in this thread!
Although Craig said that he won't be de-bugging TRPG2 in the near future, one never knows, and if he does take the time to re-do TRPG2 in the new engine, the few bugs that might carry over (for some reason or other) may be found then in one place- here. Thus, it will make his life this much easier and this much more likely to actually do it.
Title: Re: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: bugfartboy on December 08, 2010, 04:51:18 PM
I know that the mechanic bug has been mentioned where they go onto the same space. But I found a bug (oh the irony) where a giant bug (once again, oh the irony) walks and stands on an unpassable piece of background. I've circled it in the attatchment.
Title: Re: I've found a bug
Post by: HeadShot on December 29, 2010, 01:28:29 PM
So, you're saying that you're playing a game where you got Dorgon, then beat the final battle (any of the two) and when you start a "new game +" Dorgon is in the rooster but dead. I recall that bug being reported some time ago in the old forums.
Craig said before that it's not in is plans for the near future to fix the bugs in TRPG2... :(

Some punctuation would help me understand better what you wrote.

That also happened to me. But I just revived him.

Oh yeah, also when I was gold farming, a Mechanic Captain just walked on water.
Another Thing:
Sometimes Bronze Golems have Mechanic Captian Stats.
Title: Re: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: speedygeek on December 31, 2010, 10:45:16 PM
Not sure whether this has been mentioned (too many pages to read), but I found a bug where when I faced Dean Lukas alone, one of the academy guards (ones with sword) hit my main from the side on A BARREL. Yes, the same barrels that my main can't go through.
Title: Re: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: bugfartboy on December 31, 2010, 11:06:02 PM
There are a lot of enemy movement issues. But hopefully they will all go away when Craig redoes TRPG2. If he does.
Title: Re: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: ArtDrake on January 02, 2011, 01:20:28 PM
Did I mention that if you get 30 Psy Power before the Spriggat battle with Cerzak, you can play that battle through Malignus, and complete the mission?
Title: Re: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: bugfartboy on January 02, 2011, 01:34:37 PM
I think we all knew that. The same happens with the mechanic boss battle and the battle inside the Deeper Downs workshop. But if you do that you don't get the chance to recruit Grotius.
Title: Re: Official TRPG2 post-release bugs thread
Post by: bugfartboy on February 21, 2012, 09:38:38 PM
Alrighty. Time to report and exploitable bug, in case Craig ever decides he actually will remake TRPG2. If one exits the game when trying to exit the mined Lake Alto, after defeating Cerzak, you can completely escape the timed portion of it. When you open the autosaved game, you end up right in front of Tastidian, with the option to say you've completed the mission.