The Sinister Design Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new Sinister Design forums!

Poll

Do you want to be able to use the mouse to walk?

Yes, always
Only in battles
Only exploring (outside of the battles)
Never
Not sure

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Use mouse to walk  (Read 8886 times)

Cypher

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 329
  • [CENTER][URL=http://www.nodiatis.com/personality.h
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2010, 03:06:54 AM »

Well, I see no need for this topic to go on...since it can't be implemented in-game (without lots of trouble).
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 04:58:45 AM by Cypher »
Logged

mezzoforte

  • Red Cape
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #31 on: August 18, 2010, 01:39:27 PM »

At least we have one easy thing that Ertxiem suggested:   In battle, we click on the next square to move to.  

Since all battles use the same engine, and since we already move one square at a time with keyboard input, I expect that it's easy to add mouse input.

Well, I see no need for this topic to go on...since it can't be implemented in-game (without lots of trouble).

I guess it's ultimately up to Craig to say what's easy to implement and what isn't.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2010, 03:11:51 PM by mezzoforte »
Logged

Ertxiem

  • Global Moderator
  • Black Cape
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 623
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #32 on: August 18, 2010, 05:30:11 PM »

Cool down, mezzoforte. No need to get personal. Cypher is just giving his opinion.
Logged
Ert, the Dead Cow.
With 2 small Mandelbrot sets as the spots.

Cypher

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 329
  • [CENTER][URL=http://www.nodiatis.com/personality.h
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #33 on: August 19, 2010, 03:54:28 AM »

Cool down, mezzoforte. No need to get personal. Cypher is just giving his opinion.
Thank You.
At least we have one easy thing that Ertxiem suggested:   In battle, we click on the next square to move to. 

Since all battles use the same engine, and since we already move one square at a time with keyboard input, I expect that it's easy to add mouse input.

Well, I see no need for this topic to go on...since it can't be implemented in-game (without lots of trouble).

Sorry we hurt your brain.  :(  I guess it's ultimately up to Craig to say what's easy to implement and what isn't.
@Mezzoforte: That's true, but I have a good notion.
Logged

mezzoforte

  • Red Cape
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #34 on: August 19, 2010, 03:09:32 PM »

Cypher, I was and am in agreement with you!  It's just that your comment was very general, and I wasn't sure if you were directing it also at the idea of being able to move in battle by clicking on the next square.  It seems to me that it is a small change from pressing one arrow key at a time.

What is your feeling/notion about that being implemented?
Logged

SmartyPants

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1814
    • View Profile
    • -----
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #35 on: August 19, 2010, 04:50:32 PM »

What is wrong with the arrow keys?  I don't see the alternative as better.

Ertxiem

  • Global Moderator
  • Black Cape
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 623
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #36 on: August 19, 2010, 06:16:59 PM »

My suggestion is that the player could use the arrow keys or the mouse (or both :) ).
Expanding on what I said before, the arrow keys work perfectly, so there isn't a real need to use the mouse for movement. It was just a suggested feature by mezzoforte with a few contributions from all of us.
Logged
Ert, the Dead Cow.
With 2 small Mandelbrot sets as the spots.

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3330
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #37 on: August 22, 2010, 08:47:03 PM »

This won't be making it in to TSoG, but I wouldn't be surprised to see this in the Telepath game that comes after it. ;)
Logged

Ertxiem

  • Global Moderator
  • Black Cape
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 623
    • View Profile
Re: Use mouse to walk
« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2010, 03:30:44 AM »

Topic locked. Craig said it all! :)

I moved the discussion about the new TRPG to New TRPG game.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2010, 03:34:37 AM by Ertxiem »
Logged
Ert, the Dead Cow.
With 2 small Mandelbrot sets as the spots.
Pages: 1 2 [3]