The Sinister Design Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new Sinister Design forums!

Pages: 1 ... 98 99 [100] 101 102 ... 119

Author Topic: Ask the developer a question!  (Read 390197 times)

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1485 on: July 26, 2013, 08:09:18 AM »

But since the text fields themselves aren't class variables, I can't directly manipulate their contents from the parent object, which has all the relevant information.

Are you using AS3? TextField is absolutely a class; you can manipulate the contents of a TextField using its text property. I usually have a public "update" function in my GUI classes with an array parameter containing all the text to reset my TextFields' text with. (You'll need to setTextFormat after every such update.)
Logged

SmartyPants

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1814
    • View Profile
    • -----
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1486 on: July 26, 2013, 08:11:02 AM »

Firefox; I really dislike Chrome's UI, which basically makes Firefox the only really viable remaining option.
I find it amusing that you didn't even find IE worth mentioning.

ArtDrake

  • Black Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 724
    • View Profile
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1487 on: July 26, 2013, 08:25:27 AM »

Yeah, I'm using AS3, and I get that it's a class. I mean that since in one of my potential solutions, all the TextField objects are generated dynamically, they wouldn't be public variables defined in the class space, and thus would not be directly accessible to a parent object without the help of a workaround.

Anyway, I figured out a way to deal with the whole thing -- I can just shove said TextFields into a public Array, so as to give them a more permanent set of handles.

[EDIT: oops. I guess "dynamically" wasn't quite the word I was looking for, but thanks a lot anyway. My problem was stemming from the way I was defining the fields inside a method of the HUD object -- scope made them a lot less accessible to the parent of the HUD object itself, or the fields' "grandparent", so to speak.]
« Last Edit: July 26, 2013, 09:58:40 AM by Duckling »
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1488 on: July 26, 2013, 09:42:51 AM »

in one of my potential solutions, all the TextField objects are generated dynamically, they wouldn't be public variables defined in the class space, and thus would not be directly accessible to a parent object without the help of a workaround

Code: [Select]
public var newTextField:TextField = new TextField();
Boom! Accessible to the parent. :)

(I do happen to think that a public array is a better solution, though.)
« Last Edit: July 26, 2013, 09:52:26 AM by CraigStern »
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1724
    • View Profile
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1489 on: July 29, 2013, 01:55:39 PM »

Although I doubt it, does setting an item's useableWith to "automatic" qualify in the game code as the item being "equipped" to some generic slot?
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1490 on: July 29, 2013, 05:01:08 PM »

Nope; automatic just means the item is used immediately upon pickup.
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1724
    • View Profile
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1491 on: July 31, 2013, 12:20:05 PM »

Is it possible to run actual dialog through a script?
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1492 on: July 31, 2013, 12:35:14 PM »

No.
Logged

SmartyPants

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1814
    • View Profile
    • -----
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1493 on: August 08, 2013, 02:47:54 PM »

Is there any particular reason that made you decide to have golems be made of bronze instead of other metals such as iron or steel?

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1494 on: August 08, 2013, 04:24:20 PM »

It fit better with the steampunk technology I envisioned them running on.
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1724
    • View Profile
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1495 on: August 11, 2013, 09:52:38 AM »

Is there an action to remove an item from a character?
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1496 on: August 11, 2013, 11:05:13 AM »

Nope; I'll add that now. ;)
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1724
    • View Profile
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1497 on: August 11, 2013, 08:15:31 PM »

 Seeing as the modding community has started to manifest on the forums, will you be creating a "Modding" subthread?
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1724
    • View Profile
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1498 on: August 12, 2013, 10:27:29 AM »

Is the proper action to remove a character from a certain coordinate "RemoveFromCoords" or "RemoveCharFromCoords"? In the list it's the former, but in the usage example it's the latter.
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3479
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: Ask the developer a question!
« Reply #1499 on: August 12, 2013, 10:45:35 AM »

Ooh, good catch. It's RemoveFromCoords. I'll fix that in the manual.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 98 99 [100] 101 102 ... 119