The Sinister Design Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to the new Sinister Design forums!

Author Topic: True Messiah: your questions answered!  (Read 2406 times)

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3385
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
True Messiah: your questions answered!
« on: October 13, 2015, 10:11:54 AM »

The time has finally come to reveal what this is all about! This morning, I announced True Messiah, a game of cult warfare. Click that link for the basics on what the game is about, plus a bunch of really amazing surrealist art.

True Messiah will be my first commercial board game. This should give me a chance to focus on what I consider to be my core strengths (creating unique worlds with interesting gameplay mechanics) while giving me a bit of a break from the grind of having to fix endless bugs post-release. (Board games don't have to be programmed, and they don't have bugs!)

Have questions about the game? Post them here, and I'll do my best to answer them!
« Last Edit: September 27, 2016, 07:57:24 AM by CraigStern »
Logged

LightningLord2

  • Stone Golem
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2016, 11:26:44 AM »

Board games can still have unclear rulings, so you do have to 'patch' everytime someone does something that doesn't have clear rulings. Though CCGs are more likely to be affected by it, it can still happen for boardgames ;)
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3385
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2016, 01:26:05 PM »

That's easily resolved by posting rulings online--no need to delve into code and make changes to complex programming logic. :)
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1717
    • View Profile
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2019, 05:37:43 PM »

What's the purpose of the little tokens emblazoned with the entity depicted on the Providence miracle? I've read through the rule book a couple of times, and haven't seen an explanation. It's entirely possible I'm just overlooking it.
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3385
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2019, 11:02:29 AM »

Those are Providence tokens! You can use them to mark spaces containing a Providence effect--it makes resolving large fights easier (especially if God's Mercy is the miracle that produced the effect).
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1717
    • View Profile
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2019, 03:47:04 PM »

Good to know! That's what I had guessed, but it wasn't super clear. They should come in handy in particularly involved combat phases.
Logged

bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1717
    • View Profile
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2019, 07:28:05 PM »

Speaking of Providence, can Providence+ be used on a space, in reaction to another player moving low units onto that space, to negate the move? The preemption rules only refer to preempting miracles, not movements.
Logged

CraigStern

  • The Creator
  • Administrator
  • General
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3385
    • View Profile
    • Sinister Design
Re: True Messiah: your questions answered!
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2019, 10:39:24 AM »

Speaking of Providence, can Providence+ be used on a space, in reaction to another player moving low units onto that space, to negate the move?

Yes! You can preempt a move with preemptive miracles, as stated in the FAQ on page 18 of the manual. (If you couldn't, the discussion about using Edict defensively in paragraph 4, page 17 of the manual wouldn't make much sense!)
Logged