Author Topic: Using Malis?  (Read 7041 times)

Offline fourinone

  • Stone Golem
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Using Malis?
« on: June 07, 2010, 05:08:53 PM »
Hello, all.

I've played to the end of Mission 3 in the demo and recruited Malis; however, there doesn't seem to be an opportunity to use her. The merchant who sends you to fight bandits is gone, and you cannot leave Ravinale. If I choose to begin Mission 4, I only have a solo battle with Arman, and then the demo ends. Yet, people here seem to talk as if they are able to use Malis! I feel that I'm missing something. Is there a way to continue after the "end of demo" screen? I've poked around the forums a bit, but couldn't find anything. (I played the downloadable version, by the way. Is this the problem?)
Also, I realize that there is a shadowling in the Map Editor who is functionally equivalent to Malis; could this be what people were talking about instead?
Sorry if this has been answered already.

Offline Duskling

  • Black Cape
  • ***
  • Posts: 850
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2010, 05:22:49 PM »
Well, hello, fourinone, welcome to te forums, use proper grammar and punctuation, play the games, share your ideas, and enjoy your stay (har, har, I'm stealing the moderators' job! :D)! Anyway, about Malis, yes, you can add her to your party, and you can use her, I have, anyway. So, if you want to try Malis out in combat, I suggest Bug Hunting, the best place, and so far, the only place, to use new characters in combat. Though I don't understand why you can't leave Ravinale, try reporting that to the Bugs thread, they might help you there.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2010, 05:26:20 PM by Duskling »

Offline Bromtaghon

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Posts: 351
  • Current Elemental Master of Cryokinesis.
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2010, 06:29:14 PM »
In the final version of the game, you aren't supposed to be able to leave Ravinale.  However in the browser demo you can at the moment.
He drove his expensive car into a tree and found out how the Mercedes bends.

Current Elemental Master of Cryokinesis.

Offline fourinone

  • Stone Golem
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2010, 07:04:07 PM »
So, I can only use Malis in the browser version? Well, that's a shame. Oh well, thanks, guys!

Offline Bromtaghon

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Posts: 351
  • Current Elemental Master of Cryokinesis.
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2010, 11:20:40 PM »
Not until the release of the 5th mission. 
He drove his expensive car into a tree and found out how the Mercedes bends.

Current Elemental Master of Cryokinesis.

Offline Scubapookie

  • Ghost
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2010, 07:57:04 AM »
With the recent update of the browser version, I'm pretty sure it's exactly the same as the downloadable version, as Rahel can learn TrueShaft.
Some people are like slinkies: completely useless, but fun to push down a flight of stairs.

Chuck Norris grinds his coffee with his teeth and boils the water with his own rage.

Offline Bromtaghon

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Posts: 351
  • Current Elemental Master of Cryokinesis.
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2010, 04:05:58 PM »
A while back I'm sure CraigStern said he would allow people to leave Ravinale between Missions 3 and 4 on the browser demo during beta testing.  I haven't played the downloadable demo so I'm not sure.
He drove his expensive car into a tree and found out how the Mercedes bends.

Current Elemental Master of Cryokinesis.

Tastidian

  • Guest
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2010, 10:01:16 PM »
You know if you train Malis enough like I have she is perfect for attacking long range and getting behind the enemy. Malis is quite useful to my party.


Offline MikeW781

  • Black Cape
  • ***
  • Posts: 651
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2010, 06:08:43 PM »
If you beat the partial rescue mission you are allowed to leave again
Currently tied with Zack for the title of Master of Light!

Offline Idozen Cair

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Posts: 252
  • Formally known as the Grotesquery.
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2011, 09:38:02 AM »
I'm sorry for reviving this topic, but you guys have still not answered the question.

Mike: You can't do that between after the partial-mission.
Duskling: That's not a bug.

So, this problem remains unfixed.
I doesn't care, do I?

Offline bugfartboy

  • White Cape
  • ***
  • Posts: 1730
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2011, 10:49:50 AM »
Actually it has but you probably just felt the need to necropost. Once again, try not to.
Youth is ever fleeting, but cringy usernames are forever

Offline Idozen Cair

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Posts: 252
  • Formally known as the Grotesquery.
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2011, 09:41:03 PM »
What's necroposting?
I doesn't care, do I?

Offline Duskling

  • Black Cape
  • ***
  • Posts: 850
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2011, 09:47:52 PM »
Necroposting is when you revive a dead thread, which is why it is called that, and that is why we have a warning placed on threads that have not been posted in in over... 4 months, I think. Now, this is off-topic, so please, do not respond to this post.

Offline Idozen Cair

  • Blue Cape
  • **
  • Posts: 252
  • Formally known as the Grotesquery.
    • View Profile
Re: Using Malis?
« Reply #14 on: March 15, 2011, 01:32:23 AM »
But this thread is revived for an appropriate reason!

Buggy: Just how is this problem fixed?
I doesn't care, do I?